Time for a Little Change

May 14, 2009 at 9:35 am Leave a comment

rapier_greenLast Summer I started blogging about all things green in a effort to share my knowledge and experiences with others to help them put a little more green in their eveyday lives. Almost immediately I was bombarded by numerous inquiries asking to get their company/product feature on this blog. After several conversations with their promotions firm, I did decide to blog about Timex, which was a direct tie in to a previous article I had written about Yvon Chouinard. Since then, it’s been all downhill.

I’ve been rather appalled at the number of inquiries asking me to put a green spin on their business when their product or service has absolutely nothing to do with reducing environmental impact, conserving natural resources, nor protecting the future of our planet. Even more discouraging was when I discovered other ‘green’ bloggers extolling the virtues of the same organizations that I turned away. (I guess the type of ‘green’ they were blogging about was the kind that had Benjamins on them.)

I suppose that’s really the issue in a nutshell. Here in the U.S., a lot of the ‘green initiatives’ were spurred on by economical concerns – rising fuel prices which in turn impacted a number of other necessity markets such as food, electricity and heating, and clothing. Consumers feeling the impact of higher gas prices looked for ways to reduce their costs. Companies feeling the impact of higher gas prices looked for ways to lure customers to their doorstep.

Overnight ‘green’ ceased being associated with ‘environmental’ and became synonymous with ‘economical’ instead. It suddenly didn’t matter if you were being ‘green’ as long as you were making it or saving it. This month while visiting NYC, I saw a t-shirt that put it all into perspective – “Green is the new Black”. In other words, it’s cool to appear as though you’re doing something for the greater good even if you’re not.

I did not want to be a part of the hypocrisy, so I decided to take a break from blogging. But, I have a passion for writing and wanting to share my experiences with others. So, I’m changing the theme of this blog from talking about environmentally friendly technologies to more of a personal account of day-to-day happenings. I decided to keep this blog active rather than start a new blog because there is a lot of good information contained here that I didn’t want to be lost. Hopefully, someone out there will see my articles and will change their life because of what they read.

I sincerely hope those of you who were following my blog in the beginning will continue to do so. I look forward to hearing from you and your comments.

By briansrapier

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

A New Spin On Revolving Doors Out Behind the Woodshed

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Add to Technorati Favorites

